Our History


It started more than 90 years ago, with a commitment to the community. Since our humble beginnings in downtown Honolulu, American Savings Bank has grown into one of Hawai‘i's leading financial institutions with many branches throughout the state.

1925 — Thomas Anson Waddoups is appointed district manager of the first American Building & Loan Co office in Honolulu.

1942 — We change our name to American Savings & Loan Association, a name we keep for the next 45 years.

1955-58 — American Savings & Loan Association increases account holders to 21,640 with offices on O‘ahu and Hawai‘i Island.

1968 — American Savings & Loan Association branch and corporate offices open in the newly constructed Financial Plaza of the Pacific at 915 Fort Street. The building was built over the same spot that the main office had occupied for the previous 40 years.

1970's — The 70s was an era of neighbor island expansion as American Savings & Loan Association purchases Kaua‘i Savings (1971) and Maui Savings & Loan (1973) and acquires Pacific Savings & Loan Association of Hawai‘i (1977).

1987 — American Savings & Loan Association announces the formation of a separate subsidiary to conduct its Hawai‘i operations. This subsidiary, a Honolulu-based federally chartered savings bank, is called American Savings Bank.

1990 — American Savings Bank acquires First Nationwide Bank.

1997 — American Savings Bank acquires Bank of America's Hawai‘i Operations in 1997, transforming it into Hawai‘i's third-largest financial institution with a deposit base of $600,000,000.

2002 — American Savings Bank unveils a new corporate identity, kalo, or taro leaf. Kalo symbolizes growth, nourishment and strength.

2010 — President and Chief Executive Officer Richard Wacker joins the ASB ‘ohana.

2015 — ASB celebrates 90 years of serving island residents and businesses and unveils plans for the construction of a new corporate campus in Chinatown.

2019 — ASB unveils new campus - the first new office building in downtown Honolulu in nearly 25 years.

2021 — Ann Teranishi is appointed President and Chief Executive Officer.